AIA South Dakota presents its 2022 design awards


SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – South Dakota architecture firms captured one American Institute of Architects (AIA) South Dakota Honor Award and three Merit Awards during AIA South Dakota’s recent annual conference.

JLG Architects of Sioux Falls and Rapid City won an Honor Award in Architecture for the Dakota State University Cyber Lab in Madison (featured photo). The facility houses a single floor of interactive classroom/lab functions connected to a two-level, highly secure special research zone, all within an interactive environment providing extensive daylighting and views.

Koch Hazard Architects of Sioux Falls won a Merit Award in Architecture for its renovation and addition for the National Music Museum in Vermillion. Renovations restored galleries originally used as reading rooms and upgraded staff operations spaces, changed out windows and repaired stones and joints. The addition becomes a prominent new accessible entrance, solving the issue of an elevated first floor while leaving the original historic classical entrance intact. Koch Hazard Architects worked with Schwartz/Silver Architects of Boston on the project.

TSP, Inc. of Sioux Falls and Rapid City won a Merit Award in Architecture for the American Indian Student Center on the campus of South Dakota State University in Brookings, a weaving of Native American culture with the more worldly needs of a traditional campus building. Interiors celebrate the dichotomy of sacred and profane with juxtaposition of fire and water, earth and sky, while the exterior takes visitors on an abstracted journey across the landscape of the South Dakota.

CO-OP Architecture, of Sioux Falls, Aberdeen and Rapid City, won a Merit Award in Master Planning & Community Design for Friends & Citizens, a summer-long student design studio dedicated to designer led public policy discussion by combining the academic and professional world of architecture. As part of the program, licensed architects provided design students the tools and guidance required to complete a comprehensive design project.

The juror panel for the 2022 AIA SD Design Awards was led by Jeffrey Day, FAIA, founding principal of Actual Architecture Co. in Omaha, Nebraska, who assembled a team of three to judge 19 South Dakota entries.

AIA South Dakota also honored Jay Vogt, retired director of the South Dakota State Historical Society, as its 2022 Champion of Architecture. Vogt oversaw the management of the five programs (archaeology, archives, museum, historic preservation, research and publishing) as well as the administrative and development units of the society.

AIA South Dakota also named Angela Boersma, AIA, principal architect and interior designer for ID8Architecture in Brookings, as its 2022 South Dakota Young Architect. Boersma has dedicated her career to the design industry as an advocate and educator, an adjust professor taking on administrative roles in academia and an active participant with AIA South Dakota’s Advocacy Committee. She has served for four years as a Brookings County Commissioner and has contributed to multiple national committees for the National Association of County Officials.

AIA South Dakota President Allison Dvorak, AIA, of Avera Health, issued four President’s Awards — one to Tom Hurlbert, AIA, of CO-OP Architecture, AIA South Dakota’s immediate past president, for his hard work on guiding the organization through the pandemic and the other three to Terri Miller, AIA, of Architecture Incorporated, Cassie Pospishil, Assoc. AIA, of CO-OP Architecture, and Justin Oleson, AIA, of RSArchitects, for their work advancing AIA South Dakota’s Emerging Professionals group.

AIA South Dakota also announced its board leadership for 2022-2023:

  • President Allison Dvorak, AIA, Avera Health, Sioux Falls
  • President-elect Jeff Nelson, AIA, Falls Architecture Studio, Sioux Falls
  • Secretary/Treasurer Justin Oleson, AIA, RSArchitects

Feature photo credit — Chad Ziemendorf